About The Pops' New Orchestral Repertoire Project

The New Orchestral Repertoire Project (NORP) is a contest put on by the Minneapolis Pops Orchestra. NORP seeks to identify new orchestral works which previously have been performed and which are worthy additions to the standard repertoire, but which as yet have not received a large number of performances. 

Begun in 2009, the Project has now selected three winning compositions: Sparkler by Tom Cipullo in 2009,  Push by Rob Smith in 2011, and Meteora by Mark Edwards Wilson in 2013.  

2013 ~ The Minneapolis Pops Orchestra received 30 submissions for the 2013 New Orchestral Repertoire Project! Entries were received from composers in the U.K, Canada, Chile, Australia, Italy, and the United States. The winning composition, Meteora, was performed on Saturday, July 20, 2013.

Learn more about the composers’ biographies and hear the winning compositions below.

2013 NORP Winner

Mark Edwards Wilson

2011 NORP Winner

Rob Smith

2009 NORP Winner

Tom Cipullo